What Prompted That?

After my friends get over the, “You wrote a book?” shock, the question I get asked most often is, “What prompted that?”  My first response had always been “I don’t know,” but I was asked the same question so often that it had me thinking, “what did prompt this?”

Like many people, I entertained the thought that it would be nice to be able to write and work from the comfort of home.  But I dismissed it, thinking I’d never have an idea big enough or captivating enough to fill a book.  Then I came across the story of Stephenie Meyer, who wrote the very successful Twilight books.  Those books grew out of one scene that she wrote based on a dream.  One scene!  The thought stuck with me.  Could it really be that uncomplicated?

In the late fall of 2010, with the long rainy west coast winter set in and stretching out before me, I pulled my computer into my lap and started playing with a scene; an uncomplicated one.  I wrote a paragraph at first and then re-wrote it a dozen times.  That first paragraph quickly expanded into a page, and then two, and then grew into a sketchy outline for a book.  The more I wrote, the more absorbed I became in the process.  Ideas would come to me out of nowhere and soon my uncomplicated scene had grown into a first draft of The Gift.

I am so grateful to have had the time that winter to explore my one uncomplicated scene.  I’ve discovered a passion I didn’t know was in me and now my one scene has turned into a trilogy.  Who knows where it might take me next?

About JP McLean

Author of The Gift Legacy, a contemporary thriller with a twist of fantasy that will leave you believing the impossible and wary of the night sky…
This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your thoughts?

