What made you decide to write a trilogy?

Well, it didn’t start out as a trilogy.  In fact, that thought hadn’t even occurred to me when I started writing The Gift.  At that time I was concentrating on producing one story that was strong enough to call a book.  It was a personal project for me – a bucket list accomplishment.  In fact, publishing it wasn’t even on my radar at that time.

But I learned something about myself in the lull after I’d sent the draft off to the editor:  I missed writing.  I don’t know why that surprised me, after all, I’d been writing almost every day for six months, and loving it.  I found myself back at the computer restlessly picking through the story, re-writing, adding bits and re-thinking scenes.

The writing process, and writing fiction in particular, is harsh.  With each re-write, a lot of perfectly good, but ill-fitting or excessive ideas and scenes end up being cut.  Luckily, with computers, the cuts are never really gone – just pasted inside another document.

While I was busy incorporating the editor’s input into the next draft, I realized that the document I had titled “discards” should be re-named “ideas for book II”.  That’s when I started toying with the idea of a continuation of the story.  Before I knew it, an outline for a second book took shape.  It took me by surprise and at first I didn’t even tell anyone (friends and family were still reeling from the revelation that I’d written the first one!)

There were huge holes in the second outline, but I knew a good and unique story was there.  From that point on I knew The Gift it would be more than one book.  I didn’t know that three books were lurking, and perhaps there are more, but what I do know is that I’m not going to stop writing.  It’s too much a part of me now.

About JP McLean

Author of The Gift Legacy, a contemporary thriller with a twist of fantasy that will leave you believing the impossible and wary of the night sky…
This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your thoughts?

