On Your Mark; Get Set; Read! … or Wait?

Someone told me the other day that they never read the first book in a trilogy until all three of the books are available.  When I asked why, their answer was because they didn’t want to invest themselves in a story that might leave them hanging.  It wasn’t the first time I’d heard that sentiment, in fact, as the author of a trilogy, I’m often asked if my first book, The Gift: Awakening is a stand alone story or if it leaves the reader hanging on a cliff.

Being subjective, I’m not sure I’m the best person to answer that question, except to say that the first book was finished before the notion of writing a second and then a third came about.  Knowing that, I feel quite confident saying that the first book has a complete story arc and stands alone.  It was originally titled The Gift with no subtitle.  I added the subtitle after it occurred to me that there was another story arc lurking; an overarching one that would logically span three books.

That’s not to say there aren’t unanswered questions at the end of the first book – there are – but the unanswered questions aren’t cliff-hangers.  At least I don’t think they are.  My intention was to leave enough room for readers to draw some of their own conclusions.  After all, it is a fantasy: my goal is to leave the reader wondering, maybe hoping, that this parallel world exists all around them.  It’s a more believable scenario if some questions remain, just like in our own lives.

Whether or not you are one of those readers who is holding off until the trilogy is finished, I’m happy to tell you that the second book, The Gift: Revelation is complete.  I’m currently working with the designer on the book jacket and writing the other necessary bits that go into a project like this.  If all goes well, the second book, Revelation will have a late spring 2013 release date.  The third book, The Gift: Redemption, is fully outlined and I’m more than half way through writing it.  I’m aiming for a fall, 2013 release date for Redemption.

So, hold off if you must, but mark it on your calendar – because unless I’m hit by the proverbial bus (touch wood!), the trilogy will cross the finish line before you know it.

To return to JP McLean Home:  http://www.jpmclean.net

About JP McLean

Author of The Gift Legacy, a contemporary thriller with a twist of fantasy that will leave you believing the impossible and wary of the night sky…
This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Your Mark; Get Set; Read! … or Wait?

  1. Word Sick says:

    Just skimming random feeds in wordpress reader and I took notice of this…unexpectedly, I have acquired interest in your books. Keep it up stranger! From one writer to another.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

