Branding

I’ve just spent way too long on the Internet researching marketing and promotion. My head is spinning and my to-do list is growing at an alarming rate. The one actionable take-away from today was the importance of consistency when branding. The photo/gravatar that I had been using for this blog was a photo of the eagle perch fir tree off our deck that met its end in a wind storm last March. As eerie and fabulous as that photo is, it doesn’t have anything to do with my books (other than it’s eerie and fabulous), so I’ve changed it out for an author photo (which is neither), but it’s mighty consistent with my brand. I hope that switchout doesn’t defeat the whole purpose of branding. Guess I’ll find out. I’m always happy to hear your comments.

About JP McLean

Author of The Gift Legacy, a contemporary thriller with a twist of fantasy that will leave you believing the impossible and wary of the night sky…
This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Branding

  1. Mike Grant says:

    I think I agree with the author photo…I say “think” because I keep going back and forth on this. Consistency is the key, of course, which is why I try to use my cover pic wherever I can but I think it’s also good to give the reader an idea of who they’re reading in blogs. There’s a human identification with an author photo.

    Like

    • jpmclean1 says:

      Thanks. I like your stylized photo – better than most. I keep hoping I’m on the right track with this stuff. You’ve put the image in my head of a tree stump writing a blog. Thanks for the Monday laugh.

      Like

What are your thoughts?

