Readers Beware!

I thought writing fiction took imagination; apparently reading fiction is imagination’s poker equivalent of, “I’ll see that bet and raise you.”

At least that’s the impression I’m getting from the speculative feedback coming in from people who’ve read The Gift: Awakening. Readers are buying chips, taking seats at the card table, and throwing all they’ve got into their bets.

Photo_of_surprised_woman

Image courtesy Photostock/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

A typical lead-in starts… “I’ll bet that such-and-such happens,” or …“I bet so-and-so will do this or that,” and then they present a wild-ass twist that would never have crossed my mind. I don’t have a very good poker face and many a time I’ve had to peel my eyebrows out of my hairline.

It’s yet another reminder that once you publish your book, it’s not yours anymore, which isn’t a bad thing because not surprisingly, some of these crazy suggestions are really good. Bent, but good. So be warned – I’m taking notes and names. What you say can and will be used in a future book I write.

Your favourite author is probably on-line – go ahead – give them some crazy-ass feedback. They’ll love it.

About JP McLean

Author of The Gift Legacy, a contemporary thriller with a twist of fantasy that will leave you believing the impossible and wary of the night sky…
This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Readers Beware!

  1. Heehee! It is fun, isn’t it? I’ve been amazed at some of the connections my beta readers made and mystified by others. But, I suppose fiction is like any other art in that the viewer shapes it and understands it from their own specific vantage point. I think it’s fascinating.

    Like

    • JP McLean says:

      It is fun. And you’re right – people experience fiction through their own unique life filters and what comes out the other side is often different and unexpected, but always fascinating.

      Like

What are your thoughts?

