Skidding in to May’s Home Plate

Authors JPMcLean, Jennifer Manuel and Elinor Florence

Writers’ Meeting in Duncan, L to R JP McLean, Jennifer Manuel, Elinor Florence

Who else has a teaming inbox? A mess of chores begging for your undivided attention? A to-do list that would choke a horse? Making matters worse, the warming weather draws me outside to luncheons, farmers’ markets, farms, and farther away from those niggling emails, awaiting chores and other things that need to be done.

JPMcLean, Elinor Florence at the Old House, Courtenay, BC

JPMcLean, Elinor Florence & two charming gentlemen, The Old House, Courtenay, BC

Despite my efforts to touch base here once a month, May is waning fast. It’s been a busy month with a birthday, an anniversary and a writing project that keeps throwing down (up?) yellow flags.

The birthday and anniversary remind me that time marches on, the yellow flags remind me that I’m not in charge, and not nearly as clever as I imagined. So, while I sort through the yellow flags, review the tape, and decide what to do about the unruly prose, I take a step back, breathe, and realign my priorities.

Piglets on Ornney Farm, Denman Island

Piglets, Orkney Farm, Denman Island

Life, limb, and love comes first, writing second, all else?  Get in line. A good friend reminded me once, pick your battles. Good advice. Spring will only bless us once this year. Chores will go on the rinse and repeat cycle ad infinitum. I’m choosing good friends and piglets. See you in June! With any luck, the yellow flag situation will be resolved by then.

A story with no yellow flags is Emelynn’s story, you can pick it up with one click right here.

awakening-wm-600x960-for-wp-widgetRevelation WSEd Kindle Cover 2500x1563Redemption Kindle Cover 2500x1563Penance eBook Cover 2500x1563 correctedbetrayal-ebook-cover-2500x1563

About JP McLean

Author of The Gift Legacy, a contemporary thriller with a twist of fantasy that will leave you believing the impossible and wary of the night sky…
This entry was posted in Humour, Island Life, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Skidding in to May’s Home Plate

  1. This is a great line! “Chores will go on the rinse and repeat cycle ad infinitum.” How true! Hang in there, writing buddy. I’m trying to get to it as well. Like you say, life intrudes, but then again, that’s where we get our gems from.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Christy B says:

    I hear you about life being a whirlwind at the moment! I’m glad you had a good birthday ~ Happy belated b-day 🙂 And congrats on the anniversary too. At least these are good interruptions from the writing, on the positive side 😉 Hope those yellow flags stop showing up xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m starting to feel like I’m getting connected in the author scene. I see I know Elinor in the photo above. How fun!

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

